Accessibility links

Breaking News

RFE/RL's Thomas Kent To Address CSCE-House Freedom Of The Press Caucus Briefing On Attacks On The Press In Russia, Post-Soviet States

RFE/RL President Thomas Kent To Address October 4 Briefing On Attacks On The Press In Russia, Post-Soviet States

WASHINGTON—The Commission on Security and Cooperation in Europe, also known as the Helsinki Commission, and the House Freedom of the Press Caucus today announced the following joint briefing:


Wednesday, October 4, 2017
3:00 PM
Senate Visitors Center

Live Webcast:

A free press is an essential pillar of democracy, keeping governments accountable and citizens informed. Autocratic regimes seek to intimidate and silence the press by systematically targeting journalists. A muzzled independent media is powerless to prevent the domination of the state-driven news narrative and public misinformation.

Today, journalists in Russia and post-Soviet states risk intimidation, harassment, arrest, and even murder for their work. Those who criticize the government or investigate sensitive issues like corruption do so at their own peril. More often than not, cases remain unresolved and victims and families do not see justice.

This briefing will address key questions regarding journalists in Russia and other post-Soviet states: their important role and impact; concerns over their rights, safety, and protection; and future support and promotion of media freedom in the Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe (OSCE) region.

Opening remarks will be provided by the Co-Chairs of the House Freedom of the Press Caucus:

  • Rep. Adam Schiff (D-CA)
  • Rep. Steve Chabot (R-OH)

The following panelists are scheduled to speak:

  • Thomas Kent, President and CEO, Radio Free Europe/Radio Liberty
  • Amanda Bennett, Director, Voice of America
  • Nina Ognianova, Europe and Central Asia Program Coordinator, Committee to Protect Journalists
  • Karina Orlova, Washington DC Correspondent, Echo of Moscow

Media contact: Stacy Hope (csce[dot]press[at]mail[dot]house[dot]gov / 202.225.1901)